WhatsApp allows the users to see the last seen of the contacts that are added to your list. Last seen basically tells when the WhatsApp user last opened the app. It is shown in the contact chatbox by the name of the contact which makes communication more transparent.
Due to privacy concerns, you can easily hide your WhatsApp Online Status from your contacts. In this guide, we will show you how you can do it through the WhatsApp Settings.
Hide WhatsApp Online Status from Contacts
Here’s how to do it:
First, launch the WhatsApp application in your device by using the Spotlight search or Android Search. You can also manually find the app on your phone and tap on the app icon to open it.
Next, go to the WhatsApp settings. In iPhone, you will find it on the bottom of the screen. Tap on the “Settings” tab. Whereas, in Android, you will find it on the menu by tapping on the three dots given on the top-right corner of the app’s screen.
In Settings, select “Account”.
Tap on the “Privacy” option in WhatsApp account settings.
Here you can manage how your WhatsApp account will appear to other contacts. Tap on the “Last Seen” option to change the online status.
You can either hide it completely from all the users, or you can only let your contacts see the last seen status. Tap on the option suitable for your privacy.
NOTE: If you hide your last seen from everyone, you won’t be able to see other user’s last online status as well.
Once you have selected the suitable option, close the app. The changes you have made will be saved. Moreover, you can also turn off the “Read Receipts” and change the Profile picture settings, about, groups, and status from the Privacy settings.